Board of directors

Kathy Dice  - President

  • Kathy was elected to the board in 2018.  She retired from California State Parks as Superintendent of Anza-Borrego Desert State Park in 2017 following a 38 year career spanning both State, County and National Parks. Ms. Dice holds a degree from University of California, Berkeley in Biological Sciences. She has been a full time resident of Borrego Springs since 1989 and continues to be involved in many aspects of the community.
  • COMMITTEES: 2019 Town Hall Ad Hoc, Propopsition 68 Funding Ad Hoc, Operations and Infrastructure

Lyle Brecht - Vice President

  • Lyle Brecht, Vice Present. Board member since 2011. Former business development executive and management consultant for both large and small businesses. Former commissioner for a rural water district in Tennessee. Former president of a community planning association in northern Baltimore County. Former policy advisor to Office of Water, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency.
  • He has advanced degrees in business from Harvard Business School and applied ecology from the University of Minnesota College of Biological Sciences.
  • COMMITTEES: Groundwater Sustainability Plan Ad Hoc, Audit ad Hoc

Dave Duncan - Secretary/Treasurer

  • Elected initially in 2018 and his current term expires in 2022.
  • COMMITTEES: Operations and Infrastructure

Ray Delahay - Director

  • Ray Delahay was appointed to the BWD Board in 2014 and has served on a variety of BWD Committees including most recently Public Outreach and Operations and Infrastructure.
  • Mr. Delahay's professional experience includes tenure as an employee of the Metropolitan Water District of Southern California.

Diane Johnson - Director

  • ​Diane Johnson was appointed to the BWD Board in 2019 following the retirement of Director Harry Ehrlich
  • COMMITTEES: Grant Funding

Section 35200-35206
Section 35400-35413
Section 35565-35565.8

​Board of Directors are held every second and fourth Tuesday at 9:00 a.m. at the District office, 806 Palm Canyon Drive, Borrego Springs. Each agenda has a scheduled time for public comments and is available upon request. 

Ad Hoc committee meetings are held on an as needed basis.